National Humanities Center Names 2019–20 Teacher Advisory Council | National Humanities Center

News From the Center

National Humanities Center Names 2019–20 Teacher Advisory Council

June 21, 2019

Twenty Educators Selected from Fourteen States

The National Humanities Center has announced the selection of twenty highly qualified educators from across the country as members of its 2019–20 Teacher Advisory Council. These teachers, from school districts in fourteen states, will work with the Center’s education program staff in piloting, evaluating, and promoting resources and programs that complement its nationally recognized teaching and professional development materials.

The Teacher Advisory Council was formed by the National Humanities Center to aid in its ongoing effort to provide the most effective resources for teachers of the humanities. “The Center’s education resources and webinars are used by teachers all over the country,” said NHC vice president for education programs, Andy Mink, “and our Teacher Advisors help ensure that we deliver the best possible classroom tools that are not not only content-rich but pedagogically useful.”

On average, each advisor will bring more than twenty years of classroom experience to their participation on the council. Learning from these seasoned educators is vital for the Center’s education staff as they design new content, platforms, and programs.

The newly named council members are:

  • Jennifer Ansbach, Manchester Township High School (Manchester Township, NJ)
  • Nathan Antiel, St. David’s School (Raleigh, NC)
  • Camille Napier Bernstein, Natick High School (Natick, MA)
  • Dani Bostick, Handley High School (Winchester, VA)
  • Kevin M. Cline, Frankton High School (Frankton, IN)
  • Ron Eisenman, Rutland High School (Rutland, VT)
  • Jedidiah Gist-Anderson, Mallard Creek High School (Charlotte, NC)
  • Mariel Herzog, Evergreen Academy (Union, IL)
  • Nathan McAlister, Seaman High School (Topeka, KS)
  • Bill Melega, Chapel Hill High School (Chapel Hill, NC)
  • William Nesbitt, Green Hope High School (Cary, NC)
  • Lisa K. Pennington, Governors State University (University Park, IL)
  • Craig Perrier, Fairfax County Public Schools (Fairfax, VA)
  • Kimberly Perry-Sanderlin, Brogden Middle School (Durham, NC)
  • Duke Richey, The McCallie School (Chattanooga, TN)
  • Irene Sanchez, Azusa Unified School District (Azusa, CA)
  • Jessica Silveri, Reagan Middle School (Haymarket, VA)
  • Amanda Hilliard Smith, Fulton County Schools’ Teaching Museum (Atlanta, GA)
  • William Smith, Southern Regional High School (Manahawkin, NJ)
  • Rhonda Watton, Templeton Middle School (Sussex, WI)

Members of the Teacher Advisory Council will evaluate existing online offerings, pilot new materials with their students, and provide feedback as to their feasibility, and assist the Center’s education team in raising awareness of the resources and platforms with their colleagues nationwide.

Since 1984 the National Humanities Center has included teacher professional development as a key part of its mission. In recent years, through the Internet, the Center’s education resources have expanded exponentially, allowing teachers from across the United States to participate in live webinars with leading scholars, to freely download thousands of primary source materials ready-made for classroom use, and to access digital lessons and other tools that are ideally suited to teaching twenty-first-century skills.

About the National Humanities Center

The National Humanities Center is the world’s only independent institute dedicated exclusively to advanced study in all areas of the humanities. Governed by a distinguished Board of Trustees from academic, professional, and public life, the Center began operation in 1978 and offers programs to encourage excellence in scholarship, improve teaching, and increase public appreciation for, and engagement with, the humanities.


Don Solomon
Director of Communications