Trustees of the National Humanities Center

Trustees of the National Humanities Center

  • David Blackbourn

    David Blackbourn

    Cornelius Vanderbilt Distinguished Chair of History, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN

  • David Bromwich

    David Bromwich

    Sterling Professor of English, Yale University, New Haven, CT

  • Nancy Cable

    Nancy J. Cable

    Executive Director of The William R. Kenan Jr. Charitable Trust, Chapel Hill, NC

  • Dennis M. Campbell

    * Dennis M. Campbell

    (Chair, Education Programs Committee), Headmaster Emeritus, Woodberry Forest School, Durham, NC

  • Willo Carey

    Willo Carey

    Former Broadcast Executive, WHYY, St. Davids, PA

  • William Cohan

    William D. Cohan

    Author and Journalist; Special Correspondent, Vanity Fair, New York, NY

  • Joy Connolly

    Joy Connolly

    President, American Council of Learned Societies, New York, NY

  • Margo Drakos

    Margo Drakos

    Managing Director, DRK Foundation, Southern Pines, NC

  • Porter Durham

    * J. Porter Durham Jr.

    (Board Vice-Chair), Managing Partner and General Counsel, Global Endowment Management, LP, Charlotte, NC

  • David Folkenflik

    David Folkenflik

    Media Correspondent, National Public Radio, Montclair, NJ

  • Peter Hans

    Peter Hans

    President, University of North Carolina Systems, Chapel Hill, NC

  • Pamela Hendrickson

    * Pamela Hendrickson

    (Chair, Audit Committee), COO & Vice Chairman, Strategic Initiatives, The Riverside Company, New York, NY

  • Rishi Jaitly

    Rishi Jaitly

    CEO, Times Bridge, Charlottesville, VA

  • William Jordan

    * William C. Jordan

    (At-Large), Dayton-Stockton Professor of History, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ

  • Karen Lawrence

    Karen R. Lawrence

    President, The Huntington Library, Art Collections, and Botanical Gardens, San Marino, CA

  • Vincent LoVoi

    Vincent LoVoi

    Managing Partner, Mimosa Tree Capital Partners, Tulsa, OK

  • Jane Newman

    * Jane O. Newman

    (Chair, Public Engagement Committee), Professor of Comparative Literature, University of California at Irvine, Irvine, CA

  • Robert Newman

    * Robert D. Newman

    (President), Director, National Humanities Center, Research Triangle Park, NC

  • Vincent E. Price

    Vincent E. Price

    President, Duke University, Durham, NC

  • Carol Quillen

    Carol Quillen

    President Emerita, Davidson College, Davidson, NC

  • Harriet Ritvo

    Harriet Ritvo

    Arthur J. Conner Professor of History, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA

  • Peter J. Rogers Jr.

    Peter J. Rogers Jr.

    Board Chairman and CEO, B4Checkin Ltd., Halifax, Nova Scotia

  • Ann Wierda Rowland

    Ann Wierda Rowland

    Associate Professor of English, University of Kansas, Kansas City, MO

  • Joshua Ruch

    Joshua Ruch

    Managing Partner, RHO Capital Partners, New York, NY

  • Thomas Scherer

    * Thomas J. Scherer

    (Board Secretary), General Counsel, Aegon Asset Management, Chicago, IL

  • Lisa Schroeder

    * Lisa Schroeder

    (Chair, Institutional Advancement Committee), President, The Pittsburgh Foundation, Pittsburgh, PA

  • John Sherer

    John Sherer

    Spangler Family Director, UNC Press, Chapel Hill, NC

  • Joan Stewart

    * Joan Hinde Stewart

    (Chair, Scholarly Programs Committee), President Emerita, Hamilton College, Durham, NC

  • Héctor Tobar

    Héctor Tobar

    Professor of Chicano/Latino Studies, English, and Literary Journalism, University of California at Irvine, Irvine, CA

  • Ben Vinson

    * Ben Vinson III

    (Board Chair; Chair, Management Development Committee), Provost and Executive Vice President, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, OH

  • Bruce D. VonCannon

    Bruce D. VonCannon

    Managing Director/Responsible Officer, Vanheel Management Ltd., Hong Kong

  • Raymond Wiacek

    * Raymond J. Wiacek

    (Board Treasurer; Chair, Business Committee), Partner, Jones Day, Washington, DC

  • Morris Williams

    A. Morris Williams Jr.

    President, Williams & Company, West Conshohocken, PA

  • Michael Witmore

    Michael Witmore

    Director, Folger Shakespeare Library, Washington, DC

  • Susan Wolf

    Susan Wolf

    Edna J. Koury Distinguished Professor of Philosophy, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC

* Executive Committee
National Humanities Center Statement of Diversity Values

Trustees Emeriti

  • John F. Adams, Private Investor
  • James H. Averill, Retired Partner, Wellington Management Company
  • Peter A. Benoliel, Chairman Emeritus, Quaker Chemical Corporation
  • Elizabeth Birkelund, Author
  • Caroline Walker Bynum, Professor Emerita, Princeton University
  • W. Robert Connor, Senior Advisor, The Teagle Foundation, Inc.
  • Andrew Delbanco*, Department of English, Columbia University
  • Blair Effron, Centerview Partners LLC
  • Frances Ferguson*, Department of English, University of Chicago
  • Frances Daly Fergusson, President Emerita, Vassar College
  • Catherine Gallagher*, Department of English, University of California
  • Merril Halpern, Chairman Emeritus, Charterhouse Group, Inc.
  • Geoffrey Harpham, Kenan Institute for Ethics, Duke University
  • Robert Hollander, Department of French and Italian, Princeton University
  • Michael Ann Holly, Starr Director Emeritus, Research and Academic Program, Clark Art Institute
  • Philip S. Khoury, Ford International Professor of History and Associate Provost, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Shepard Krech III*, Professor Emeritus, Brown University
  • Thomas W. Laqueur*, Department of History, University of California, Berkeley
  • William Leuchtenburg*, Professor of History Emeritus, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Richard Levy, President, H.B.D. Inc., Greensboro, NC
  • Martin E. Marty, Fairfax M. Cone Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus, University of Chicago
  • Assad Meymandi, MD, PHD, DLFAPA, Adjunct Professor of Psychiatry at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • William M. (Bill) Moore Jr., Partner, Franklin Street Partners
  • Patricia R. Morton, Founder, PRM Advisors, LLC
  • Francis Oakley*, Professor of the History of Ideas and President Emeritus, Williams College
  • John C. O’Hara Jr., Former Managing Director, Rockefeller Capital Management
  • Carl Pforzheimer III, Manager, Carl H. Pforzheimer & Co. LLC
  • Lawrence R. Ricciardi, Senior Advisor: IBM Corp., Jones Day, Lazard Frères & Co., LLC
  • Cara W. Robertson*, Independent Scholar and Attorney
  • Sally Dalton Robinson, Civic Leader and Philanthropist
  • Benno Schmidt Jr., Chairman, Avenues: The World School
  • John Searle, Department of Philosophy, University of California, Berkeley
  • Isaac Shapiro, Esq., Of Counsel, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom
  • Patricia Meyer Spacks*, Edgar F. Shannon Professor Emerita, University of Virginia
  • Robert Strassler, Independent Scholar and Businessman
  • Mark E. Thierfelder, Partner and Chair, Global Corporate and Securities Practice, Dechert LLP, New York, NY
  • Jonathan G. Weiss, Senior Vice President and Head, Wealth and Investment Management, Wells Fargo & Company, New York, NY
  • Herbert Winokur Jr., Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Capricorn Holdings, Inc.
  • Pauline R. Yu, Former President, American Council of Learned Societies

* Fellow