Teacher Advisory Council 2019–20

Education Programs at the National Humanities Center work to provide leadership, training, resources, and partnerships that advance humanities education at the K–16 level. Our work focuses on the integration of strong scholarship and content, inquiry-based pedagogy, and emerging technology. We build bridges that put scholars and educators in conversation to support humanities classrooms at all levels.

Critical to this mission is the role of in-service and experienced teachers in providing relevant and critical perspective to our work. The Teacher Advisory Council supports the Education Department of the National Humanities Center for a one-year term of service. Chosen to represent multiple disciplines in the humanities, these teacher leaders accept an active role in the development, evaluation, and promotion of NHC materials and projects.

Join the Council

Interested educators are invited to submit their applications for the 2020–21 Teacher Advisory Council. Apply Now

Teacher Advisory Council Members, 2019–20

  • Jennifer Ansbach

    Jennifer Ansbach

    English Teacher, Manchester Township High School, Manchester Township, NJ

  • Nate Antiel

    Nathan Antiel

    English Teacher, St. David’s School, Raleigh, NC

  • Camille Napier Bernstein

    Camille Napier Bernstein

    English Teacher, Natick High School, Natick, MA

  • Dani Bostick

    Dani Bostick

    Latin Teacher, Handley High School, Winchester, VA

  • Kevin M. Cline

    Kevin M. Cline

    Social Studies Teacher, Frankton High School, Frankton, IN

  • Ron Eisenman

    Ron Eisenman

    Social Studies Teacher, Rutland High School, Rutland, VT

  • Jedidiah Gist-Anderson

    Jedidiah Gist-Anderson

    Social Studies Teacher, Mallard Creek High School, Charlotte, NC

  • Mariel Herzog

    Mariel Herzog

    English and History Teacher, Evergreen Academy, Union, IL

  • Nathan McAlister

    Nathan McAlister

    History Teacher, Seaman High School, Topeka, KS

  • Bill Melega

    Bill Melega

    History Teacher, Chapel Hill High School, Chapel Hill, NC

  • Jeff Nesbitt

    William Nesbitt

    Social Studies Teacher, Green Hope High School, Cary, NC

  • Lisa K. Pennington

    Lisa Pennington

    Assistant Professor, Governors State University, University Park, IL

  • Craig Perrier

    Craig Perrier

    Curriculum and Instruction Specialist, Fairfax County Public Schools, Fairfax, VA

  • Kimberly Perry-Sanderlin

    Kimberly Perry-Sanderlin

    AIG Specialist and Curriculum Support Coach, Brogden Middle School, Durham, NC

  • Duke Richey

    Duke Richey

    History Teacher and Adjunct Instructor, The McCallie School, Chattanooga, TN

  • Irene Sanchez

    Irene Sanchez

    Latino Studies Teacher, Azusa Unified School District, Azusa, CA

  • Jessica Silveri

    Jessica Silveri

    Gifted Resource Teacher, Reagan Middle School, Haymarket, VA

  • Amanda Hilliard Smith

    Amanda Hilliard Smith

    Museum Teaching Specialist, Fulton County Schools, Atlanta, GA

  • Bill Smith

    William Smith

    Social Studies Teacher, Southern Regional High School, Manahawkin, NJ

  • Rhonda Watton

    Rhonda Watton

    Social Studies Teacher, Templeton Middle School, Sussex, WI

2018–19 Council Members 2017–18 Council Members 2016–17 Council Members