Teacher Advisory Council 2021–22

Education Programs at the National Humanities Center work to provide leadership, training, resources, and partnerships that advance humanities education at the K–16 level. Our work focuses on the integration of strong scholarship and content, inquiry-based pedagogy, and emerging technology. We build bridges that put scholars and educators in conversation to support humanities classrooms at all levels.

Critical to this mission is the role of in-service and experienced teachers in providing relevant and critical perspective to our work. The Teacher Advisory Council supports the Education Department of the National Humanities Center for a one-year term of service. Chosen to represent multiple disciplines in the humanities, these teacher leaders accept an active role in the development, evaluation, and promotion of the National Humanities Center’s educational materials and projects.

Teacher Advisory Council Members, 2021–22

  • Michael Alfieri

    Mount Saint Joseph High School
    Baltimore, MD

  • Candace Bailey

    North Carolina Central University
    Durham, NC (NHC Fellow, 2019–20)

  • Josh Cabat

    Roslyn High School
    Roslyn, NY

  • Stacie Christensen

    Horizon Elementary School
    Boise, ID

  • Hashim Davis

    Albemarle High School
    Charlottesville, VA

  • Judi Freeman

    Boston Latin School
    Boston, MA

  • Tisha Hooks

    Hopkins School
    New Haven, CT

  • Breann Johnston

    Cutter Morning Star High School
    Hot Springs, AR

  • Kathy Keffeler

    Douglas High School
    Box Elder, SD

  • Myla Liljemark

    Seward Middle School
    Seward, AK

  • Jared Morris

    Madison County Public Schools
    Madison, VA

  • Justin Olmstead

    University of Central Oklahoma
    Edmond, OK

  • Elena Samkin

    Pinecrest High School
    Southern Pines, NC

  • Amanda Lee Savage

    University of Memphis
    Memphis, TN

  • Erica Shaw

    College Now
    Concord, CA

  • Brian Sheehy

    North Andover High School
    North Andover, MA

  • Geoffrey Smith

    St. Andrew’s-Sewanee School
    Sewanee, TN

  • John Terry

    The Westminsters School
    Atlanta, GA

  • Kate Van Haren

    Pittsville Elementary School
    Pittsville, WI

  • Kymberli Wregglesworth

    Onaway Secondary School
    Onaway, MI