Return to the home page of the National Humanities Center Website.The Richard W. Lyman Award
The Richard W. Lyman Award

The Lyman Award
Award criteria and nomination form

Comments and questions about the Lyman Award
Nominations for the 2006 Richard W. Lyman
Award are open through December 15, 2005.

     The Richard W. Lyman Award recognizes scholars who have advanced humanistic scholarship and teaching through the innovative use of information technology. The award may recognize work that creates new knowledge in some domain of the humanities; that embodies technological innovation that has broad application in scholarship and teaching; that addresses social, cultural, and/or economic issues in the creation and dissemination of scholarly work in the contemporary world; and/or work that uses technology in new ways to bring the results of humanistic scholarship to student and public audiences. In recent years, scholars in the classics, English and American literature, history, and other humanistic disciplines have increasingly used information technology to make available facsimiles of rare manuscripts; to archive, index, and annotate literary, artistic, and scholarly materials; to link text, visual images, and sound in new ways; and to create new social arrangements that will bring scholars and students together to blur the boundaries between learning, teaching, and research. The National Humanities Center presents the Lyman Award to individuals and teams who break new ground by exploiting information technology toward these ends.

     The award honors Richard W. Lyman, who was president of Stanford University from 197080 and of the Rockefeller Foundation from 198088, and is made possible through the generosity of the Rockefeller Foundation. Each recipient receives a prize of $25,000.

Lyman Award Recipients

2005 John M. Unsworth
Dean, Graduate School of Library and Information Science, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Director, Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities, University of Virginia (19932003)
2004 Robert K. Englund
Professor, Department of Near Eastern Languages and Cultures
University of California at Los Angeles
Principal investigator, Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative
2003 Roy Rosenzweig
College of Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor of History and Cultural Studies
Director, Center for History and New Media
George Mason University
2002 Jerome McGann
John Stewart Bryan University Professor
Editor, The Complete Writings and Pictures of Dante Gabriel Rossetti, a Hypermedia Research Archive
University of Virginia

» Award criteria and nomination form

» Comments and questions about the Lyman Award

*Download Adobe Acrobat Reader, free from Adobe's Web site.
National Humanities Center
7 Alexander Drive, P.O. Box 12256
Research Triangle Park, North Carolina 27709-2256 USA
Phone: (919) 549-0661   Fax: (919) 990-8535
Copyright © 2005 National Humanities Center. All rights reserved.
Revised: September 2005